Hallway Update

This weekend I made it my priority to complete some more projects in our newly striped hallway.

I have been looking for a console table that would fit at the end of the hallway to display some books and other decorative things. The problem was that the table could only be 12″ deep because I didn’t want the table sticking out past the door frame. The table was going to be right outside the guest room door so I didn’t want anyone to run into the table once they walked outside the room.

Here are some before pictures:

 When I started to look for console tables for the end of the hallway, I only found a few that were the right depth. The few that I found where either not the style or color I was looking for or more than $100 which was way out of our budget. I didn’t want to spend too much money since it was more for decoration than function.

So when we went to the Christmas Tree Shop this weekend and found a bookcase that met our dimensions at only $35, I was sold! I wanted it to look more like a console table so I just made sure Nick didn’t add the back panels so it was more open.

I also wanted to add some mirrors above the table to create the illusion that the hallway is longer. I bought a pack of 7 circle mirrors from target and bought some blue ribbon to use to hang the mirrors.

I also bought a runner from Overstock to give the hallway some more softness.

Here are the after pictures:

 

We also made a trip to Homegoods and got the pear, owl and the picture frame. The blue and green sign we got in Cape Coral, Florida last year at a fun art shop. The nautical knot and striped vase are from Target and the blown glass light was an engagement gift from my aunt.

I am so happy with the way it all turned out. The last thing I need to do is update the lights in the hallway and then this hallway will be done. I cannot even wait for that day! This has been a long process for such a small hallway!!

Hope you like it as much as we do!

Leave a Reply

