Magnetic/Chalkboard

We are slowly trying to finish decorating our condo since we don’t have anything on our walls. One of our first projects was making a magnetic/chalkboard for our kitchen. I DIYed a fabric corkboard but we wanted a chalkboard to write notes and to-dos in our kitchen.

I bought a frame at JoAnn Fabrics and Nick took a trip to Home Depot to get the magnetic primer and the chalkboard paint.

We started with the magnetic primer. It is really heavy and thick so we had to make sure to really stir it around between each coat (that was Nick’s job).

 

I then painted the glass with 3 coats of the magnetic primer, waiting a few hours between each coat.

The next day we added 3 coats of chalkboard paint.

When it was completely dry we put it back into the frame.

We then hung it up in our kitchen next to the pantry and near the corkboard. (I was going to Memphis that weekend so I wrote Nick a little note)

The next thing I did was make some cute magnetics for the board. I bought buttons from JoAnn Fabric and followed the instructions on how to make my own with fabric left over from my corkboard project.

First I had to take the button back off and then I cut out the fabric to cover the button.

I then just snapped the back of the button onto the front and it secured the fabric. I know this sounds confusing but it is really easy once you get the buttons and read the instructions. I had bought some small magnetics from Michael’s and super glued those to the fabric button.

They look adorable on our chalkboard but unfortunately they are not strong enough to hold anything up. We have also learned that the magnetic pull is not that strong on our board so I am not sure how much we will use the board to hang things. At least we can still use it as a chalkboard.

Hope you all like it! We were feeling very crafty after completing this project!

 – Katy

One thought on “Magnetic/Chalkboard

  1. I LOVE it! It turned out super cute– great job! I am definitely going to have to make one of my own when I move into my new apartment (which I found by the way!!). xoxo

Leave a Reply

