Snickerdoodle

This weekend we a BBQ to celebrate one of Nick’s good friends 30th birthday! This was a big deal since he is the first of our friends to turn the big 3-0.

In honor of this big day I decided to whip out my best Martha Stewart and make cupcakes AND frosting from scratch! If you know me, this is a huge deal since I am known for bringing delicious (but out-of-the-box) funfetti cookies to most events. I wouldn’t exactly call myself a cook so I knew this was going to be interesting to say the least.

I decided to make snickerdoodle cupcakes out of my Martha Stewart cupcake book that I got for my wedding shower (thanks amber!). Here is the recipe: http://www.marthastewart.com/316419/snickerdoodle-cupcakes. I didn’t use the frosting she suggested but I have another recipe to share below. I love anything with cinnamon especially snickerdoodles so after confirming with the birthday boy’s gf that he also liked it, I went to work getting all the supplies.

Below is everything I needed to bake the afternoon away. How cute are those birthday cupcake liners?

I used my KitchenAid mixer for the first time (I got it for our wedding a year ago…I told you I wasn’t a cook!) and let me tell you it was AMAZING. It made the baking experience that much easier and I think I will be using it a lot more in the future.

Step 1: Sifting the flours, baking powder, salt and cinnamon together. I didn’t even know what a shifter was until my mother-in-law told me and laughed at me for being so naïve to the baking world. She then bought me a sifter for Christmas last year.

Step 2: Used my trusty KitchenAid to cream the butter and sugar together and then slowly add the eggs, vanilla, flour mixture and milk together.

Step 3: It time to put the delicious batter into the cupcake liners and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes. 

When the cupcakes were finally done and cooled, it was time to make the frosting. I used this recipe to make buttercream frosting http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/buttercream-icing/detail.aspx.I didn’t want to go overboard with the flavors so I decided to just make vanilla.

The first and only step: Using my KitchenAid (it really came in handy!) I creamed together the butter, shortening and vanilla and then slowly added in the sugar and continued to mix it until it was fluffy.

I then made a little assembly line to finish off the cupcakes. I began by frosting the cupcakes and then topped them off with some cinnamon sugar to give it some decoration and some added flavor.

Overall I had fun making them from scratch and they were a big hit at the BBQ and the birthday boy loved them (pictured below)

– Katy

Leave a Reply

