Bookshelf update Part 2

Another stop Courtney and I made during our Homegoods/TJMaxx trips was to Home Depot. I wanted to paint the back wall of our built-ins another color to give it depth and to help make everything stand out. I got the idea from my favorite bloggers younghouselove.com (an amazing blog that everyone should follow!). I decided a deep grey would work well with the green theme we have going on in the room and would bring some of the colors from our rug.

So off to Home Depot we went in search of the perfect color of grey. We ended up choosing Anonymous by Behr and because we only had a small area to paint we got 2 tester jars which was way cheaper than buying the smallest can (only $3 per jar). I also had to stock up on paint supplies since I have never painted walls in my life.

The next night it was time to take everything off the shelves and take the shelves down to prep for my first painting experience. Nick has painted before so he helped by adding the painters tape so I could paint away.

Now it was my turn to paint the back of our shelves! I had a great time and I think I will be doing a lot more painting in my future…

I know you are all jealous of my painters clothes which includes my 100% Unique State Street t-shirt.

Below is what it looked like after both sides were painted; the top slanted shelves were by far the most annoying to paint. The color came out better than we thought and it already looks 100 times better than before.

As hard as it might be, you will have to wait to see the finished project until next time!

– Katy

One thought on “Bookshelf update Part 2

Leave a Reply

